fbpx

Mother's Restaurant REVIEWS - Mother's Restaurant at 401 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130

slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image
97

Mother's Restaurant in New Orleans, Louisiana

Loading...
Mother's Restaurant
Get Directions

Ratings and reviews for Mother's Restaurant

user_avatar

Kuulei Alfiche

4 days ago

This was a great restaurant. I spent two days looking for a regular place to eat that wasn't over the top commercialized, over priced or geared towards the experience versus the food. Mother's is located just off the French Quarters but an easy walk from there. Their food was very good. They had a great selection of the traditional local food and the price was fair. We were able to get to plates for around $30. The dining area was really basic but comfortable enough to enjoy the meal. The staff was very helpful since I have never had creole food before and the staff was happy to help explain and show pics of their food. Also, the food was very good. The gumbo and jambalaya was the best we've tried so far.As you walk in they hand you a menu and you continue to the register to order your food. You order and they hand you your receipt and someone comes by and picks that up and brings your food right to you. Very simple and enjoyable.Wheelchair accessibility: It didn't seem that easy for a wheelchair but it possibly could be accommodated but I didn't see any wheelchair access

user_avatar

Grace Hui

a month ago

I recently dined at Mother's Kitchen in New Orleans, intrigued by its unique service style. The process involves waiting first outside, then inside to place your order, and finally settling at a table where a server collects your receipt and starts preparing your food. While the system was efficient, the food experience did not match up.My order included pancakes with smoked sausage, a biscuit with raspberry preserves, a custom-made omelette, and ham with side vegetables. Regrettably, the pancakes and biscuit were both dry and lacked flavor. The raspberry preserves were disappointingly liquidy, detracting from the overall taste.The omelette, which I had hoped to customize with spinach, mushrooms, and tomatoes, was mistakenly filled with sausage instead of tomatoes, compromising my preference for a vegetarian meal. Moreover, the eggs in the omelette were overcooked.On a brighter note, the ham was satisfactory, but the accompanying vegetables were bland and unremarkable.Overall, my experience at Mother's Kitchen was underwhelming. The food did not live up to my expectations, marred by dryness and flavor issues. Despite its efficient service method, the culinary missteps and order inaccuracies make me hesitant to return or recommend it. It's a spot that might suit those looking for basic fare in New Orleans, but it didn't quite hit the mark for me.

user_avatar

COMS 1984

a month ago

Food was OKAttended this place during a recent visit to NOLA. I read great reviews for this place and it came highly recommended by a family member.Food:Had the ham and cheese omelette with cheese grits, a biscuit, butter and raspberry preservesThe omelette was average, nothing remarkable or that set it a part from any other breakfast place, it appeared to be made with real eggs (which I appreciated)First time trying grits, was pleasantly surprised that I didn't hate them, I'm not sure I would have enjoyed them without the cheese, glad I tried them but don't think I'd get them againThe biscuits are homemade which is a plus, I watched a staff member make them while in line outside waiting to get into the restaurant, I didn't like their consistency, they're soft to the point where they just fall a part in your hands making it impossible to spread anything on them including the butter and raspberry preserves, I wouldn't order one againService:This place was incredibly busy but the line outside and inside moved pretty fast. Once inside, you take a copy of the printed menu and decide what you're going to order while while in line to get to the cash (assuming that you didn't already decide what you wanted while waiting in line outside). Once you get to the cash, you place and pay for your order, line up to collect your drink(s) next to the cash before seating yourself at the table of your choice. The person assigned to your table will collect your receipt and deliver your food to your table once it's ready. Our server was attentive and checked in just the right amount of times.Atmosphere:Old decor, feels like a time capsule, a well preserved local institution, very busy, noisey but charming enoughSummaryIt was OK. Glad I went but would probably not return a second time.

user_avatar

Nat T.

4 days ago

user_avatar

B Joseph

2 months ago

user_avatar

Jose Miguel Longo

2 months ago

Mother's is a great lunch spot if you're looking for quick New Orleans traditional food. It was my last day in New Orleans and I wanted to enjoy food from a place that is well known for it's lunch but creole flavors.Mother's offers a lot and I promise you, you will not leave hungry. I a staple to the Big Easy be sure to try their famous ham and Po'Boy sandwich. You won't regret it.

user_avatar

Martin Heenan Jr

3 months ago

user_avatar

Ash

3 months ago

We had a quick lunch bite here while in town for a conference. I was impressed with so many the gluten free options clearly marked on the menu.Our table sampled several things. The table agreed the jambalaya was our favorite.It's worth a stop if you're in the area and the line isn't too long (though it does move quickly).There are plenty of extra tables in the back rooms.

user_avatar

Brad Curtis

3 months ago

user_avatar

Larryelle Phillips

a week ago

Features at Mother's Restaurant

Service options

Curbside pickup
Delivery
Takeout
Dine-in

Highlights

Fast service
Great coffee
Great dessert

Popular for

Breakfast
Lunch
Dinner
Solo dining

Accessibility

Wheelchair accessible entrance
Wheelchair accessible parking lot
Wheelchair accessible restroom
Wheelchair accessible seating

Offerings

Alcohol
Beer
Coffee
Comfort food
Hard liquor
Quick bite
Small plates
Wine

Dining options

Breakfast
Brunch
Lunch
Dinner
Catering
Dessert
Seating

Amenities

Restroom

Atmosphere

Casual
Cozy
Historic
Trendy

Crowd

College students
Family-friendly
Groups
LGBTQ+ friendly
Tourists

Planning

Usually a wait
Accepts reservations

Payments

Credit cards
Debit cards
NFC mobile payments

Children

Good for kids
High chairs
Kids' menu

Parking

Free parking lot
Free street parking
Paid parking lot
Paid street parking

Other

LGBTQ+ friendly
Nearby

Oceana Grill

4.4 (16260)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Acme Oyster House

4.5 (10133)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Deanie's Seafood Restaurant in the French Quarter

4.3 (8527)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Cafe Beignet, Royal Street

4.4 (8378)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Cochon Restaurant

4.6 (8324)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Ruby Slipper Cafe

4.5 (8264)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Creole House Restaurant & Oyster Bar

4.2 (7559)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Commander's Palace

4.6 (6425)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Daisy Dukes French Quarter

4.4 (6084)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Felix's Restaurant & Oyster Bar

4.3 (6057)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Related

El Cilantrillo Restaurant

4.5 (8475)

Kissimmee, Florida

Creole House Restaurant & Oyster Bar

4.2 (7559)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Steamboat Bill's on the Lake

4.5 (7085)

Lake Charles, Louisiana

Screen Door Eastside

4.6 (6509)

Portland, Oregon

Commander's Palace

4.6 (6425)

New Orleans, Louisiana

Louisiana Bistreaux Seafood Kitchen East Point

4.4 (6174)

East Point, Georgia

Copeland's of New Orleans

4.3 (6139)

Atlanta, Georgia

Brenda's French Soul Food

4.5 (5551)

San Francisco, California

Toulouse Petit Kitchen & Lounge

4.4 (5527)

Seattle, Washington

Copeland's of New Orleans

4.3 (4920)

Jacksonville, Florida

Is this your business?