fbpx

D Z Akin's REVIEWS - D Z Akin's at 6930 Alvarado Rd, San Diego, CA 92120

slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image
23
Loading...
D Z Akin's
Get Directions

Ratings and reviews for D Z Akin's

user_avatar

Michael Mitch

4 months ago

Consistently good. Reminds me of New York, or Chicago-style deli. Full-service Restaurant and complete deli.The staff is friendly but quick.The interior hasn't changed in years, which only adds to the ambiance.(in this photo is a Reuben omelette, home fries, and an everything bagel).Once you slice into this omelet, there are loads of corned beef and sauerkraut.Multiple other breakfast options available.

user_avatar

chris brown

2 months ago

I NEED THE OWNER TO READ ALL OF THIS AND THEN REACH OUT ASAP. THIS SERVICE WAS UNACCEPTABLE!Have you ever had a waiter/waitress so absolutely moronic that they put a steak knife in right front of a very active 1 year old? I sure haven't until I came here and had Cher as a waitress. That isn't all however. I feel it's best to start from the beginning. It is my mother's birthday today so me and my brother decided to take her and the kids here for her birthday. When me and my wife got there with the kids we sat down. My daughter was in my lap and my wife had our son in the car seat sitting on her lap. Cher took our drink orders and then came back with everything except for the drinks for my daughter. On top of that I had to ask 3 times for a booster seat and nobody even thought to offer a chair for my wife so she wouldn't have to sit with a CAR SEAT in her lap the whole time. We ended up getting both the chair and the booster seat. Due to the table being overcluttered because of cher not clearing a single thing from the table, my wife's beer ended up getting spilled all over her through no fault of our own. We were told we would get a replacement beer and never actually did. When Cher brought the kids food she gave my daughter the wrong plate which belonged to my niece. Not knowing what my wife had ordered her I started feeding her the food. When we realized we had the wrong food and asked Cher if she could make it right, she took the Mac and cheese from my niece (who hadn't started to eat it yet) and replaced it with the torn up chicken my daughter had been eating rather than getting a new plate made. When my food finally came, she set my plate right in front of my 1 year old daughter with the steak knife directly in her reach. If I wasn't fast enough my daughter would have grabbed the knife and hurt herself. We complained to the manager, not sure of her name but she was an older blonde woman. She apologized for the waitress, replaced her with somebody else and had them make us a new plate for my niece. By this point my daughter still had not gotten her milk and water, our new waitress got it to us in less than a minute. When it came time to leave I was given the check and although they never replaced the beer they spilled they tried charging me for it anyways. When I asked for them to take it off they came back with the wrong bill and charged me $96. When I realized this I spoke to the person at the register who issued a refund and then charged me for my correct total. To be completely honest, not even trying to be that guy but after our entire meal had been ruined due to Cher from start to end, I feel as if the meal should have just been comped. $71 is far too much money for everything we had to endure while eating here. Below is a photo of the receipts as proof. It's a shame because despite how much I love this place, unless the owner of this place reaches out and makes this right, I'm never going to come back.

user_avatar

Rachel Weathers

a month ago

My first time here even though I've lived here for over 20 years. We were seated so quickly for how busy they were. Food was amazing! Large portions and came out in no time. I had the mushroom and spinach omelet. My boyfriend, our friend and his mother all had the liver and onions omelet & they said it tasted incredible. My friend stated their biscuits and gravy are to die for. The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. Can't wait to come back!

user_avatar

Joe Egan

8 months ago

user_avatar

Sarah Wright

a year ago

user_avatar

Jay Gee

2 weeks ago

This is a great hometown type of spot. I thought it was going to be a little bit different. But everything is made in house and it's good quality. A little expensive for what you get but you get a lot of food. What's a decent atmosphere and overall is a spot worth going to. If you love corned beef and pastrami then this is a good place. Not the best I've ever had but definitely not the worst. It gives a real home vibe. Like you were over at somebody's house.Parking: It was kind of hard to find parking here there's a lot of businesses and not a lot of spots to park.Kid-friendliness: Very home friendly environment. Kids are definitely welcome.

user_avatar

Vinny M

a week ago

You guys need to have a spotter out in the parking lot to help your large, elderly clientele base, park their cars straight. This is borderline asinine. If you can't accomplish the simple task of parking a car evenly between two white(or blue) lines, you shouldn't be driving.Maybe offer a small discount for a good parking job?

user_avatar

Calla Bjorklund Jarvie

a year ago

DZ Akins has a MASSIVE menu - prepare to be overwhelmed. We were there for breakfast and got a mocha (which was delightful), a potato pancake (which was also delightful), and an omelette and home fries. The omelette was good - nothing spectacular - but the home fries were mushy and tasteless. All of this would have been fine, but our waitress was so rude. She didn't take our order for about 30 minutes, and she never came back to check on us after she delivered the food. We had to go ask someone at the front counter for refills on water, and we had to go ask someone else for the check. We did get a couple of pastries on the way out, and they were pretty dry and flavorless. I would definitely skip this restaurant and find something better - there are many more wonderful options in San Diego!

user_avatar

Bennie Roy

7 months ago

This was my first visit here. My neighbor recommended it. He said that the sandwiches were enormous.He was right!I tried the #55 Turkey, avocado and jack. It was huge! I could only finish half along with a generous side of cole slaw.Very big menu. I'll come back and try something else next time.

user_avatar

Jeanna Steiner

a month ago

Features at D Z Akin's

Service options

Curbside pickup
Delivery
In-store pickup
In-store shopping
Takeout
Dine-in

Accessibility

Wheelchair accessible entrance
Wheelchair accessible parking lot
Wheelchair accessible restroom
Wheelchair accessible seating

Payments

Credit cards
Debit cards
NFC mobile payments
Nearby

In-N-Out Burger

4.6 (9002)

San Diego, California

Dave & Buster's San Diego

4.2 (6997)

San Diego, California

In-N-Out Burger

4.6 (5881)

San Diego, California

Hash House A Go Go

4.6 (4527)

San Diego, California

D Z Akin's REVIEWS - D Z Akin's at 6930 Alvarado Rd, San Diego, CA 92120

Bronx Pizza

4.7 (4406)

San Diego, California

The Cheesecake Factory

4.3 (4290)

San Diego, California

Snooze, an A.M. Eatery

4.6 (3993)

San Diego, California

Rudford's Restaurant

4.4 (3924)

San Diego, California

Lazy Dog Restaurant & Bar

4.4 (3897)

San Diego, California

D Z Akin's REVIEWS - D Z Akin's at 6930 Alvarado Rd, San Diego, CA 92120

Benihana

4.2 (3735)

San Diego, California

Related

Yaamava' Resort & Casino

4.2 (43885)

Highland, California

Hyman's Seafood

4.9 (34484)

Charleston, South Carolina

Ole Ole Steak House

4.9 (24801)

Miami Beach, Florida

SluttyVegan Ralph David

4.9 (23248)

Atlanta, Georgia

Porto's Bakery and Cafe

4.7 (21908)

Downey, California

Hard Rock Cafe

4.4 (21430)

New York, New York

D Z Akin's REVIEWS - D Z Akin's at 6930 Alvarado Rd, San Diego, CA 92120

Downtown Aquarium

4.1 (21264)

Houston, Texas

The Varsity

4.1 (21177)

Atlanta, Georgia

Porto's Bakery and Cafe

4.7 (19620)

Burbank, California

Havana Harry's

4.7 (18543)

Coral Gables, Florida

Is this your business?