fbpx

Sheep Meadow REVIEWS - Sheep Meadow at 1802 65th Street Transverse, 1802 E 65th St, New York, NY 10065

slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image slider_image slider_image
slider_image
85

Sheep Meadow in New York, NY

Loading...
Sheep Meadow
Get Directions

Ratings and reviews for Sheep Meadow

user_avatar

Alice Kelson

a month ago

Tonight we saw in the New Year in Central Park NY We were in Sheep's Meadow to watch the fireworks. It was fantastic and Beautiful to watch

user_avatar

Hong Phuc (Lily)

7 months ago

I really enjoy roaming around the park. The sheep meadow is a must to see how people chilling and relaxing under the heat. Guess it is better during fall but anyway great view of the city, the buildings, and good vibes

user_avatar

Samrudha Dixit

8 months ago

I love this meadow because of the quick access to it. A few steps from the south side and you can reach the place easily. The place is usually crowded with people out on picnics. However it's still nice to relax, soak the sun with the view of the skyline of the billionaire row. The park definitely makes the city saner to live.

user_avatar

Sheng C

3 months ago

Still love this place in fall and winter. I used to dig it in summer until there were lantern flies that the mayor had failed to address for the city for the past 2 years.

user_avatar

David M Falco

a year ago

A great place to relax, enjoy nature, and perhaps have a nice picnic. This open space is so ideal for sunny days. There is plenty of space, though it can get busy. You will enjoy very good views to all the buildings that surround Central Park.

user_avatar

Mark Harburg

9 months ago

Oh Sheep Meadow Park, how do I love thee?Let me Google the ways, and then you'll see!First off, your grass is so green and plush,It's like walking on clouds, but without the rush.Your trees are tall and provide shade,Perfect for a picnic on a sunny day.But the real stars of the show, of course,Are the sheep, with their fluffy coats and hoarse.They graze and frolic, without a care,A sight so cute, it's almost unfair.And let's not forget the views you offer,Of skyscrapers and the city proper.So if you're looking for a park to visit,Sheep Meadow should definitely be on your list-it!In short, Sheep Meadow Park is a gem,A true oasis in the concrete jungle, and then some.

user_avatar

Johnny Novo

3 months ago

My big homie was in town for the weekend and hadn't been to NYC since he was 5, so we had to make the treacherous walk from Alphabet City (A-TOWN STAND UP!) to Central Park.First off, how could I not shout out the architects of Central Park, Frederick Law Olmsted and Calvert Vaux. ABSOLUTE LEGENDS! I know I may be getting predictable in shouting out architects for places I love, but whatever. Deal with it. They should absolutely get more shine for designing what is EASILY the most iconic park in the world, but that is a conversation for another day. I may name one of my dogs after them though, "Olmsted" would be a sick dog name ahahaha.About 16k steps into our 39,462 step day, we stumbled upon Sheep Meadow. It consumes 15 acres of the 842.6 acres that make up Central park. Walking into the entrance, it immediately put a smile on my face as there were a bunch of human beings enjoying the sunshine by having picnics, running around with their dogs, playing ultimate frisbee, laid out reading, etc. I might have to bring Olmsted here when I get him...If you are like me, you will inevitably ask why is it called Sheep Meadow? A quick google search informed me that from 1864-1934, there were 200 sheep roaming around grazing these 15 acres with the thought being this would remind people of the idyllic English countryside. They ended up moving the sheep because they were worried New Yorkers would kill them and eat them during the great depression ahahaha that's wild. Crazy times.We sat and people watched here for about 20 minutes before continuing our journey. I knew it was time to move on when I started to size up the people playing ultimate frisbee. "I would BURN him... my route running is too crispy for them..."One of my favorite pockets in Central Park. THANK YOU FREDDY OLMSTED AND CV, I WON'T LET THEM FORGET!IG @jnov_Tiktok @jnov__

user_avatar

Pavel D.

8 months ago

user_avatar

Patricia P

7 months ago

A beautiful open gated space of gorgeous trimmed grass. You can bring a chair or blanket and enjoy the sun and/or shade. You can have a picnic, play games, bring your kids, just relax.Restrooms: There is a public restroom right near the area. It is clean but make sure you have tissue on hand.Dog-friendliness: It is dog friendly but the lawn is kept super clean and trimmed. Ppl are held accountable for their pets so they aren't allowed to use the bathroom in the area.

user_avatar

Yehuda Kirschenbaum

6 months ago

Love this open ground in the middle of Central Park, you get amazing vistas of the surrounding buildings.It can get very crowded at times so come early and bring a hat, blanket and plenty of cold-water.Signs say no dogs allowed but I have seen many dogs on leash and police just walk past them.

Features at Sheep Meadow

Accessibility

Wheelchair accessible entrance
Wheelchair accessible parking lot

Amenities

Public restroom

Children

Good for kids
Good for kids birthday

Pets

Dogs allowed
Nearby

Intrepid Museum

4.6 (37784)

New York, NY

Central Park Zoo

4.4 (22684)

New York, NY

City Hall Park

4.5 (14787)

New York, NY

Circle Line Sightseeing Cruises

4.5 (12263)

New York, NY

Randall's Island Park

4.4 (4844)

New York, NY

Marcus Garvey Park

4.3 (4392)

New York, NY

Highbridge Park

4.4 (3248)

New York, NY

Carl Schurz Park

4.7 (3091)

New York, NY

Columbus Park

4.3 (3083)

New York, NY

Bow Bridge

4.8 (2428)

New York, NY

Related

Central Park

4.8 (265711)

New York, New York

Magic Kingdom Park

4.6 (215546)

Bay Lake, Florida

Times Square

4.7 (209323)

Manhattan, New York

Disney Springs

4.7 (196553)

Lake Buena Vista, Florida

Universal Orlando Resort

4.7 (174561)

Orlando, Florida

Rockefeller Center

4.7 (173127)

New York, New York

Universal Studios Hollywood

4.6 (149471)

Universal City, California

National Mall

4.8 (135551)

Washington, District of Columbia

Universal Studios Florida

4.7 (134727)

Orlando, Florida

Fremont Street Experience

4.6 (125089)

Las Vegas, Nevada

Is this your business?