Atlanta, Georgia Personal Injury Lawyers
Other Top Rated Atlanta Personal Injury Lawyers
Of course there are a lot of personal injury lawyers in metro Atlanta. In fact, according to AVVO there are 1,610 personal injury lawyers in Atlanta (see here), and I suspect that number to be understated. However, my goal with this page is to bring attention to personal injury attorneys in Atlanta and surround metro areas that can help you with your injury case.
Top Car Accident Lawyers in Atlanta
If you’ve driven in the Atlanta traffic, then you know how dangerous it can be at anytime day or night. Especially if you are coming into Atlanta from the suburbs in the morning, or heading out of Atlanta after work, then you know the nightmare that’s called Atlanta traffic.
As such, car accidents happen all the time in metro Atlanta, and this makes traffic jams 100 times worse than they are without the accidents. Because of the high volume of car accidents in Atlanta, the insurance rates for Georgia drivers has been continually rising.
According to WSB-TV Atlanta , one of the latest significant increases is for Georgia customers who have car insurance policies with insurance giant Hartford. The company tells Channel 2 Action News that a rate hike of more than 24 percent for nearly 25,000 customers has taken effect. And a strong cause of these insurance rate hikes is a direct result of the number of car accidents, especially accidents in and around metro Atlanta.
However, if you’ve been in a car accident in Atlanta, you know the best resource for you to navigate the ins and outs of insurance is to find a reputable car accident lawyer. Find one of the best car accident lawyers in Atlanta can save you hours of time researching laws and regulations. And if you are someone else was injured in the car accident, then an injury attorney specializing in auto accidents can quickly become your best friend in this challenging situation. Below is my research on the 5 best car accident lawyers in Atlanta, Georgia. I’ve used the legal help website Avvo to conduct this research.
Within Avvo, I searched specifically for car accident lawyers in Atlanta and sorted the search results by Best Reviewed. I decided on best reviewed because this can give you some context into other auto accident victim’s perspectives on the attorney in their own words. I hope this information is valuable as you conduct your own research into finding the best car accident lawyers in Atlanta, Georgia.
Attorney Steven Leibel
About Attorney Steven Leibel
(Source: Leibel.com) Steven Leibel has been practicing law since his graduation from Emory Law School in 1980. Best known for winning the highest jury verdict in Georgia history — $776 million in a wrongful death lawsuit arising from the tragic murder of the Sheriff-elect of Dekalb County, Georgia— Mr. Leibel has also been named a SuperLawyer for five consecutive years by his peers.
In 1988, Mr. Leibel began representing individuals in serious personal injury, medical malpractice, and wrongful death cases. His successes include recovering extensive damages for the death of a high school student whose pneumonia was misdiagnosed; receiving a record recovery in a case involving a neurosurgeon who performed unnecessary back surgery, debilitating a client; resolving the death of an unborn infant due to medical malpractice; receiving extensive damages for the family of an elderly gentleman who died in an assisted living facility due to negligence; resolving a tractor-trailer accident which caused traumatic brain injury to a young adult.
Steven Leibel, P.C.
6140 GA-400, Suite C
Cumming, GA 30028
Attorney David M. VanSant
About Attorney David M. VanSant
(Source: VanSantLaw.com ) Attorney David Van Sant brings valuable experience to the table for the injured clients he represents. He used to work as a defense attorney for an insurance company, so he knows how insurance companies think and operate.
With this insight, he can prepare his clients’ cases even more thoroughly because he is constantly keeping their tactics in mind. He’s able to foresee what moves the insurance company may take during a claim, which gives him a huge advantage for the personal injury cases he handles. If you are searching for a reliable Atlanta personal injury attorney, contact Van Sant Law, LLC as soon as possible.
Van Sant Law, LLC
6095 Lake Forrest Dr NE #250
Atlanta, GA 30328
Attorney Stephen Fowler
About Attorney Steven Fowler
(Source: Avvo ) Stephen Fowler is a Georgia native who grew up in Lithonia, Georgia. Stephen focuses his practice areas on Personal Injury and Wrongful Death Cases. He received his undergraduate degree in finance from the University of Miami. After graduating, he attended the University of Georgia, where he obtained both a law degree (JD) and a Masters of Business Administration (MBA) in finance and marketing. During law school, Stephen served as the Managing Editor for the Georgia Journal of Intellectual Property Law. During that time, he authored a published article that has currently been cited in three prestigious publications as support to various arguments.
The Fowler Firm, LLC
1720 Peachtree St NW Suite 118
Atlanta, GA 30309
Attorney Anthony Charles Kalka
About Attorney Anthony Charles Kalka
(Source: Avvo ) Today, Tony focuses his practice on representing catastrophically injured victims in the areas of trucking litigation, vehicular accidents, bicycle accidents, and bad faith insurance litigation. In 2006 and again from 2009-2012, Tony was selected as Georgia Super Lawyer Rising Star 20012 and 2013 and as a Georgia Super Lawyer in 2014 and 2015. This prestigious title is given to no less than 2.5% of lawyers in the state. Tony was recently nominated as a National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Lawyers, denoting his outstanding work in the legal community.
Kalka & Baer LLC
1447 Peachtree St NW #550
Atlanta, GA 30309
Attorney Andrew R. Lynch
About Attorney Andrew R. Lynch
(Source: Lawyers.com ) Andrew R. Lynch discovered his calling as a criminal defense attorney while attending the University of Georgia. During his senior year of college, a close family member was investigated, arrested, and tried for a felony drug charge. Andrew witnessed firsthand the effect criminal charges can have on the accused and their family. This experience inspired him to pursue his legal education at Georgia State University College of Law. Andrew graduated cum laude from Georgia State University College of Law with overall academic honors and top honors in litigation and advanced criminal procedure
Andrew R. Lynch, P.C.
160 Clairemont Ave Suite 340
Decatur, GA 30030
Atlanta Car Accident & Auto Injuries: Frequently Asked Questions
What to do if you have a car accident in Atlanta?
- Move to a safe area (if you can)
- Stop your vehicle and get out.
- Check on others involved.
- Call the police to the scene.
- Gather info.
- Document the scene.
- File your insurance claim.
Source ( esurance )
What happens if I have car accident without insurance?
Driving without insurance is illegal in most states. You could face penalties such as fines, loss of your driver’s license and car registration, and even jail time, depending on the state.
If you cause an accident without insurance, you’ll have to pay for all the damage to your vehicle out of your pocket. You could also be sued by other people for damage and injuries you caused them.
Even if you buy car insurance the next day, that policy would apply only to accidents that happen after you buy it.
The outlook is slightly better if someone else hits you, since the driver who’s at fault typically is responsible for damage in a car accident. But state laws may limit what kind of expenses you can recoup if you were driving without insurance in that case.
Uninsured drivers also will have trouble finding cheap car insurance rates when they shop for a policy.
Source ( nerdwallet )
Atlanta Personal Injury Frequently Asked Questions
Is the state of Georgia a no fault state?
The State of Georgia is NOT a No-Fault car insurance liability state.
Therefore, there aren’t any restrictions on the amount your son can sue for (if necessary), nor does he have to turn to his own insurance company for compensation. His action will be against the friend and his insurance company.
The State of Georgia doesn’t have any limit of liability for a personal injury case. The amount of liability compensation will be directly proportionate to the amount of your son’s injuries, his medical bills, out of pocket expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering.
Do you have to have car insurance in Georgia?
Before you drive in the Peach State, you must have at least the following required minimum coverages on your auto insurance:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per person
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury*: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage*: $25,000 with a $250, $500, or $1000 deductible
Uninsured Motorist coverages can be rejected.
Due to the rising costs of healthcare and auto repair, your GEICO insurance agent may recommend higher liability limits to better protect your financial interests. Be sure to discuss all your options with a licensed agent if you’re unsure of the best coverage levels for you.
Source: Injury Claim Coach
Is uninsured motorist coverage a requirement in Georgia?
If you are a motorist in Georgia, it is important to know the minimum Georgia car insurance requirements. These requirements establish the minimum levels of insurance coverage that every motorist must buy. In some states this coverage will protect you against property damage, personal injury, and damages caused by uninsured motorists.
However, in Georgia you are not required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance, nor uninsured motorist coverage (UM). Georgia car insurance requirements only require motorists to have liability insurance for:
- bodily injury liability for one person in one accident;
- bodily injury liability for all persons in one accident; and
- property damage liability for one accident.
Furthermore, Georgia car insurance requirements set the minimum amount that you will need for each of these 3 types of car insurance coverage. The minimum Georgia car insurance requirements are set at 25/50/25, which means that you will need:
- a minimum of $25,000 of bodily injury liability for one person in one accident;
- a minimum of $50,000 bodily injury liability for all persons injured in one accident; and
- a minimum of $25,000 property damage liability for one accident.
Source: Geico Georgia Car Insurance
Can you drive without insurance in Georgia?
If you are caught driving without car insurance in the state of Georgia, the Georgia Department of Revenue is required by law to suspend and/or revoke the registration of your vehicle. To cancel the suspension, you must pay the $25 lapse fee and a $60 reinstatement fee. This penalty applies for a first time occurrence. It’s important to remember that driving a vehicle with a cancelled, suspended or revoked registration in Georgia is a misdemeanor.
- Penalties for a second occurrence of suspended registration include:
- Suspension of vehicle’s registration for 90 days after 2nd occurrence during any five year period
- Owner must obtain and keep continuous Georgia liability insurance coverage on the vehicle for it to be reinstated
- Pay a $25 lapse fee, a $60 reinstatement fee plus any vehicle registration fee and ad valorem taxes that may be due if it is during their registration period
- Suspension of driving privileges for 90 days after the registration was suspended
- Penalties for a third or subsequent occurrence of suspended registration include:
- Suspension of the vehicle’s registration for six months for a third or subsequent occurrence within any five year period
- Owner must obtain and keep continuous Georgia liability insurance coverage on their vehicle
- Pay a $25 lapse fee, a $160 reinstatement fee plus any vehicle registration fee and ad valorem taxes that may be due if it is during their registration period
- Suspension of driving privileges for six months after the registration was suspended
Source: Law Office of Jason R. Schultz
What are Georgia negligence laws?
Georgia negligence laws are summarized in the chart below.
- Check out Negligence: Background for a concise overview of this legal cause of action.
- Code Section: Georgia Code Title 51 governs torts. Under Georgia law, a tort is defined as “the unlawful violation of a private legal right.” Negligence is a type of tort that happens when a person fails to exercise a required duty of care and another person is injured.
- Contributory Negligence-Limit to Plaintiff’s Recovery: Negligence on the part of the plaintiff does not prevent recovery of damages provided the plaintiff’s fault is less than that of the defendant and the consequences of the defendant’s negligence could not have been avoided by exercising ordinary care. A plaintiff’s damages will be reduced by an amount in proportion to his or her fault. (George Code section 51-11-7).
- Contribution Among Tortfeasors: If more than one person is found negligent for causing injury to another, a defendant who pays the damages award is entitled to contribution from any other defendants proportionate to their amount of responsibility. (Georgia Code section 51-12-32).
What is the statute of limitations for medical malpractice in Georgia?
All states set their own statute of limitations for medical malpractice claims. A statute of limitations is the time limit within which an injured patient has to file a case. Once the statute of limitations runs out, so does the opportunity to file suit against the medical professional.
In Georgia, the statute of limitations on medical malpractice cases is two years from the date of injury or death. It’s important to keep in mind that the date of injury or death can come after the date of the incident that ultimately led to the injury or death.
However, Georgia also has a statute of repose, which further limits a patient’s ability to file a claim against a medical professional. According to the statute of repose, an injured patient has only up to five years to file a suit after the act that caused the injury occurs.
What is the statute of limitations for a misdemeanor in the state of Georgia?
When prosecuting a misdemeanor, the prosecution “must be commenced within two years after the commission of a crime.” O.C.G.A. § 17-3-1(d) (emphasis added). For criminal cases, the statute of limitations generally runs from the time of the crime to the time of indictment. Cain v. State, 144 Ga. App. 249 (1977). Your inquiry, of course, involves a prosecution by citation, not indictment, and the statutes specifically relevant to those prosecutions dictate when a prosecution actually commences.
What do you think about this list of personal injury attorney in Atlanta, Georgia?
Let us know in the comments below.