If you’re a resident of Georgia, or even just visiting the state, it’s important to understand the state’s DUI laws. Unfortunately, alcohol-related motor vehicle fatalities are all too common in the U.S. and, more specifically, in Georgia. To help you stay informed, this blog article provides an overview of the DUI laws in the Peach State and what you need to know. We’ll cover the penalties, possible license suspensions, and more. Read on for a comprehensive overview of Georgia’s DUI laws and how they could affect you.
Types of DUI Offenses in Georgia
Under Georgia law, a person can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. However, a person can be charged with DUI even if their BAC is lower than the legal limit. If a person is under the influence of drugs, or any other intoxicant, they can also be charged with DUI.
In Georgia, DUI is broken down into two categories: a standard DUI and an aggravated DUI. The difference between the two is the driver’s BAC. A standard DUI is for drivers who are found to have a BAC between 0.08% and 0.14%. An aggravated DUI is for drivers who are found to have a BAC of 0.15% or higher.
DUI penalties in Georgia vary based on the type and severity of the DUI offense. For a standard DUI, penalties can include fines ranging from $300 to $1,000 and/or up to twelve months in jail. For an aggravated DUI, penalties can include fines ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 and/or up to twelve months in jail. In either case, the driver’s license may be suspended for up to one year. In addition, any DUI conviction may result in the completion of an alcohol and drug awareness program and/or probation.
Penalties for DUI Convictions in Georgia
When it comes to DUI convictions, Georgia has some of the toughest laws in the country. Penalties range from fines, license suspension, and even jail time, depending on the severity of the situation. In some cases, a DUI conviction can even result in a felony charge.
First-time DUI offenders can expect to face fines of up to $1,000 and up to a year in jail. Other penalties may include community service, alcohol education classes, and installation of an ignition interlock device.
If a driver is charged with a DUI for a second time, the penalties become even more severe. Fines can reach up to $1,000 and jail time can be up to one year. A second DUI charge can also result in a license suspension of up to three years. The driver may also be required to complete an alcohol and drug safety program.
It’s important to understand the potential consequences of a DUI conviction in Georgia. In addition to fines and jail time, other penalties such as license suspension and community service can have long-term implications. As such, it’s wise to take caution when operating a motor vehicle and avoid operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Implied Consent and License Suspension in Georgia
In Georgia, Implied Consent laws require drivers to submit to a chemical alcohol test upon request from a law enforcement official. Refusing to take the test could result in an automatic license suspension of up to one year, even if the driver is later acquitted of DUI charges. As such, it’s essential to understand your rights and obligations under the Implied Consent law.
In addition to the Implied Consent law, Georgia also allows law enforcement officers to suspend a driver’s license if they are arrested for DUI. Depending on the circumstances, a license suspension could range from six months to five years. In some cases, the suspension could be permanent. Furthermore, even if a driver is acquitted of DUI charges, the license suspension may still stand.
It’s important to note that Georgia’s license suspension laws are extremely unforgiving. With this in mind, it’s important to understand your rights and obligations under the state’s DUI laws. If you’re arrested for DUI, it’s always best to contact a qualified DUI attorney for advice and legal representation. Doing so can help ensure that you understand your rights to challenge a license suspension, as well as the other legal penalties associated with a DUI conviction in Georgia.
Ignition Interlock Device Requirements
In Georgia, one of the harshest DUI penalties is the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). In some cases, even the first-time offender is required to equip their car with an IID. An IID is a breathalyzer that is installed in your car’s steering column and requires you to blow into it before you can start the vehicle. If the device detects any alcohol in your breath, it will not allow the vehicle to start. IIDs also require you to be tested periodically while driving, and if you fail those tests, the vehicle will be shut off.
There are a few requirements that must be met for an IID to be installed on your vehicle. First, you must have a valid Georgia driver’s license. You must also pass a background check that verifies that you are not a convicted felon or habitual law offender. Finally, you must also be willing to pay for the installation and monthly maintenance of the IID. These costs can vary depending on the company you use but generally range from $75 to $100 for installation, plus an additional $50 to $75 per month for maintenance.
Resources for Georgia DUI Offenders
Residents of Georgia should be aware of the state’s DUI laws, which can severely impact those who break them. Fortunately, there are resources available to DUI offenders, such as driving safety classes, alcohol and drug education programs, and other support services, to help them stay safe and avoid future DUI convictions. The Georgia Department of Driver Services provides a list of approved programs, as well as helpful information on license suspension, revoking a license, and reinstating a license.
Speak with a DUI Attorney Today
As you can gather, it is important to understand the DUI laws of Georgia if you are a resident or visiting. Now that we have provided an overview of the DUI laws in Georgia and the penalties that may be imposed if you are convicted of driving while intoxicated including fines, license suspensions, and possible jail time, we encourage you to consult with an experienced DUI attorney to help if you are ever stopped for a DUI. Contact criminal defense attorney Jarrett Maillet today to schedule a consultation. We are here to help with your case day or night!
Jarrett Maillet J.D., P.C.
210 E 31st St
Savannah, GA 31401